I LIVE IN SIBERIA.

Surprise! 

Emailing today – because we’re not ALLOWED to go outside on Monday. For real.  THEY CANCELED CHURCH. BECAUSE OF THE TEMPERATURE. Behold, Minnesota – the Siberia of America. I live here. 

Anyway. How are all of you? Good? Great? Better? Best? 

I’m good. 

It’s twenty-fourteen, after all. Good things to come! Any goals? Any life-changings? 

Tanneh and Joshua are doing well! We’re teaching our investigator’s roommate. I had a really good time on exchanges with Sis Shwartz — even though we got lost like 30 times. She is awesome. 

Oh – guess what??? I got your package! Christmas came! Thank you! I loved it all! And Shell – I thank you – that talk was super necessary yesterday. 
 

This morning I was reading 2 Nephi 4 – and Nephi knows exactly how I feel. He’s seen the Lord do such great things yet he cries out in anguish because his weaknesses and temptations easily beset him. Nevertheless, he knows who he puts his trust in. He knows ultimately that everything will be ok. He cries unto the Lord asking him to please clear the pathway for him and shake at the appearance of sin. Satan is super dumb – am I right? I’m done with him. I want to deny myself of all ungodliness, and be aware when Holy Ghost is speaking to me – urging me to get in a better state of mind. My patriarchal blessing tells me to “refuse to be negative.” OPTIMISM. 

All of this is hard. Humilty and submissiveness and trust is what’s up. Only then will things turn around. 

I got hope, everybody! Everything will be fine. Perhaps this is the process of change that C.S. Lewis speaks of: 

“Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on: you knew those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently he starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of—throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were going to be made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace” 

Sometimes we need to be torn down, so Heavenly Father can create what He needs us to be. 

I love you all. I’m in need of some real good prayers right now. 

Love, Kathryn 
Leave a Reply

